“Reading rockets”- Author Laura Elliott

Cut out large sized paper hearts, mix up pink, red, and white paint. Let children paint and decorate a heart to hang in the room. “Love!”

This is an exciting educational site that celebrates the power of words.  This month, Children’s Author, Laura Elliott (A String of Hearts), teaches students how to write poetry using a sampling of styles.  Laura Elliott displays a variety of handmade hearts and shares some of her ideas and poetic styles of writing.  Discover the power of words to help us eloquently celebrate Valentine’s Day!

 http://www.readingrockets.org/calendar/valentine/

• Family or Classroom Teachers- Discover how to make a “String of Hearts” e card with your child/students!

http://www.readingrockets.org/content/e-cards/setup.php?photo_id=28

Love

It arrived with a flutter of angel’s wings,

Tip toeing into my heart

Stealing the key

Locking the door.

Now it’s your turn!  Enjoy playing with words!

x0x0

2 thoughts on ““Reading rockets”- Author Laura Elliott

  1. Hi Lily! Thank you for your complimentary comment. I do like to edublog! I am pleased to read that my posts are useful as sometimes I wonder, Does anyone bother to read them? I try to improve my skills and share my knowledge through this blog. I am glad that you enjoy reading them. Your blog is amazing as well! I can tell that you enjoy animals. I know someone (an edublogger-M’s Blog, on my site) that “loves” animals, too! Thanks for commenting and keep up the fine blogging.
    Best,
    Lynne Nielsen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *